Movietone or Pathe approx 1974 Rabbitt backed up Lorne Shields at the Arcadia Hotel

The famous Rabbitt band once were the backing band for my father performing at the Arcadia Hotel in approx 1974 where he sang "One Broken Heart For Sale" (Lorne Shields) at the time the whole thing was filmed, and fans were able to watch it at movie theatres. I am trying, all avenues to SOMEHOW find a copy of that film as it was with the Rabbitt band being so big I wonder if you can assist in me tracking a clip down???

Thank you
Angelique Shields

6 thoughts on “Movietone or Pathe approx 1974 Rabbitt backed up Lorne Shields at the Arcadia Hotel

  1. Richard Dick Mackridge Wednesday, 29th May 2013 / 2:26 pm

    Hi guys, I have a super copy of Lorne’s album, ‘One Broken Heart for Sale’…what offers? Dick Mackridge.

  2. Johan Rothner Sunday, 15th April 2012 / 1:55 pm

    I am writing this in reply to Marietjie Mienie who requested About “One Broken Heart For Sale (2 October 2011) If you did not succeed in getting hold of a copy of this album I might be able to be of assistance. Please email me if you are interested.

    Johan

    mrothner@yahoo.com

  3. Johan Rothner Sunday, 19th February 2012 / 1:43 pm

    Just like Marietjie, who commented, I am also desperately looking for “ONE BROKEN HEART FOR SALE” , but the entire album that was released in 1975. I still have an 8 track tape of that album which i got from my father but due to life’s irritating accidents, it has got a few damages on the tape surface, however it can still play. But if I can get a copy that is in a better condition, it will be a dream come true. If you or anyone else can still help me with a copy that is still in a good condition (on any format) please let me know and make your price.

    Johan Rothner

    email: mrothner@yahoo.com

  4. Marietjie Mienie Sunday, 2nd October 2011 / 5:46 pm

    I am writing this in reply to Angelique Shields. I don’t know anything about the film or clip you are asking, but I would truly like a copy of your father’s “One Broken Heart For Sale”. I have been searching everywhere and cannot find anything. Your’s is the first that I’ve seen. If your father, or you, still have a copy, could you please let me know how much it cost and if it is still available. I have some very good memories from my younger days about that song and your father had the most beautiful voice.

    Marietjie Mienie

  5. PaulJanisch Saturday, 2nd July 2011 / 4:48 am

    This begs the broader question as to where any Rabbitt footage might be. There is a Carte Blanche feature on YouTube which shows videos for Hard Ride, Searching, Charlie, Baby’s Leaving (with Duncan on vocals). These videos must be residing in a collection somewhere. I’ve heard Neil Cloud is the custodian of a large amount of footage, bootlegs etc. It would be wonderful to get this stuff out there for us to see.

  6. Brian Currin, Music Fan Wednesday, 29th June 2011 / 5:35 pm

    Patric van Blerk wrote:

    Yes, I vaguely remember this happening – and I think it was done by SA MIRROR – I have no idea who they evolved into or what may still exist.

    SA MIRROR was part of of SATBEL, which also owned R&T SATBEL Records which distributed my company, JoBurg Records – which RABBITT and LORNE SHIELDS were signed to.

    (Incidently, I wrote Lorne’s first hit ‘Turn Back the Clock’ – and ‘One Broken Heart For Sale’ was written by none other than my old chum EMIL DEAN ZOGHBY!).

    I would imagine that Nu-Metro or Ster-Kinekor would be the best places for her to search. I remember the executive at SA MIRROR was one Benny Mechanick (sp?)

    P x.

    Kind regards,

    Patric van Blerk
    http://CapeTownSound.com

Leave a Reply

