Sherry Ray

Selwyn Schneider wrote:

I have a question for you. I come from East London and when I was about 12 – 13 there was a local girl named Sharon Rayton who made a version of Stupid Cupid under the name of Sherry Ray. I wonder if you have come across her in all your research of our music history? I ask cos as I used to know her and would like to contact her if I can find her. Does this sound familiar to you at all??

Brian wrote:

Don’t know of her … and no mention in "The History Of Contemporary Music Of South Africa" book either.

8 thoughts on “Sherry Ray

  1. Sherry (Ray) Hornsey Tuesday, 20th December 2011 / 11:23 am

    Hi Jill!! …just seen your message. I have JUST also been given a cd copy of Woody’s “Night at the W/bowl” – will get one made for you if you give me a postal address !

    all best – Sherry. (now Hornsey)

  2. Jill Woodward Hefter Saturday, 24th September 2011 / 8:40 am

    Brian, I am Jill Woodward Hefter, Ellery Woodward’s youngest daughter. I would love to connect with Sharon Rayton/Sherry Ray. Could you see if she would be willing to let me contact her? Also, I have long wanted to find a copy of the record “A Night at the Windsor Bowl”. Do you or one of your correspondents (e.g. Tertius Louw) know where I might find one?

  3. Brian Currin, Music Fan Sunday, 28th August 2011 / 11:37 am

    Yes, thank you. Sherry posted a comment here recently herself.

  4. Gari coussins Saturday, 27th August 2011 / 8:42 pm

    Hi gents

    Sheri is my mom
    Did you get hold of her

    Regards gari

  5. Sherry Hornsey(Ray) Tuesday, 21st June 2011 / 9:09 pm

    Hi Brian- (I came home to SA in 1971 from USA. Showbiz is “not me.” !!! I studied art instead and raised a family of two !) Worked p/time in JHB with SABC musos like Rollo Scott tho’ in late 6o’s Lived here in St Francis Bay since 1983 and about to move to Montagu this Sept. ! Don’t mind if you let Selwyn know – I remember him well !!! regards, Sher.

  6. Brian Currin Monday, 2nd May 2011 / 5:23 pm

    Tertius Louw wrote:

    Sharon Rayton aka Sherry Ray recorded 2 albums in 1962:

    1. A night at the Windsor Bowl (accompanied by Ellery Woodward band – incl stupid cupid)

    2. A taste of sherry

    Her whereabouts are unknown

Leave a Reply

