éVoid’s debut available to download



  1. I Am A Fadget [5.35]
  2. Taximan [2.55]
  3. Inda Inda Indaba [3.49]
  4. Junk Jive (part 1) [4.54]
  5. Shadows [4.52]
  6. Dun Kalusin Ta Va [3.05]
  7. Urban Warrior [5.40]

    Bonus tracks

  8. I Am a Fadget alternate mix [5.30]
  9. Shadows alternate version [5.00]
  10. Jiving to the Weekend Beat [3.34]
  11. Race of Tan [4.26]
  12. Jeremiah and Josephine [3.52]

All songs written by Lucien and Erik Windrich except lyrics on ‘Taximan’ by Karl A Windrich and ‘Inda Inda Indaba’ by Lucien, Erik and Karl Windrich.


  • Lucien Windrich: vocals, guitars
  • Erik Windrich: vocals, keyboards, bass synthesizers
  • Wayne Harker: drums
  • Bakithi Khumalo: bass on ‘Taximan’
  • Linndrum used on ‘I Am A Fadget’ and ‘Urban Warrior’

    Recorded and mixed at RPM Studios, Goud Street, Johannesburg, April 1983, engineered by Richard Mitchell.

Release information:

LP: 1983, WEA, WIC 8012
CD: November 2000, RetroFresh, freshcd 106


In preparation of the re-release of the éVoid on CD I thought I would revisit this classic. This album spent 34 weeks in the SA album charts, one of these at the top spot and it’s not too surprising. With the smash hit singles “Taximan” and “Shadows” on it, the album was destined to do well. I caught éVoid live at the Springbok Bar in London in 1993 and even 10 years after it’s release these 2 songs drove the small crowd of ex-pats wild.

“Shadows” is a song full of feelings and texture. It seems to glide out the speakers at you and transports you through the air above “the Bhundu Bush of Africa”. A timeless SA classic.

“Taximan” is more up tempo and lighthearted and like “Inda-Inda-Indaba” and the instrumental “Junk Jive” bounces along blending african rhythms with the synthpop sound of the day to great effect.

The album opens with “I am a Fadget” a quirkly afropop song which was released as a single but failed to chart. It is not as strong as “Shadows” or “Taximan” but still a great song in it’s own right.

The final track is the melancholic “Urban Warrior” and talks of the plight of the Zulu Warrior who is now having to cope with a modern world that is not kind to him. Lyrically this song is akin to Juluka’s “African Sky Blue”.

The one thing that this album lacks (and which their second album “Here comes the Rot” has) is great production, but that shouldn’t put you off. The tunes are great enough to hold their own and the rawness of the sound adds a rootsy dimension to the biggest SA album of the 80’s.

Learn from your mistake if you didn’t buy the album first time round. Life’s too short for regrets of this sort.

— John Samson, SA Rock Digest, September 2000

éVoid MP3s are available to buy online at
Rhythm Online Music Store.

Rhythm  Online Music Store
Rhythm Online


One thought on “éVoid’s debut available to download

  1. Catherine Friday, 1st June 2012 / 9:59 pm

    I was at a evoid concert 1983 at the chelsea hotel! Great memories!!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s